Arates monastery is located north of the village Hermon in Arates village. Historical information about the monastery and the village dates back to the 9th century, but comments about them exist as far back as the 7th century. Tarsaich Prince donated Arates Village and church to Amaghu Noravanq, as a summer residence for its high-ranking priesthood.
The main church of Arates Monastery was domed with quadrangle plan. The exact date of construction is not known, but it was renovated in 1270. Now it is in ruined condition, the roof with the dome is completely destroyed as well as the upper parts of the walls and the middle part of the southern wall. A second church, called St. Virgin, is located in the eastern part of the group. According to studies, this church was founded in 7th century and was renovated in the Middle Ages, but exact dates are unknown. One of the crosses engraved on the western wall includes the date 1216. This church is also in ruined condition, the roof and the upper parts of the walls are crumbled.