Shatin monastery, or Shatinavanq, is located 4km east from Shatin village, on the southern slope of Teksar mountains. Shatin Church was built in 10-14th centuries. Since then numerous khachkars (cross-stones), fragments and inscriptions have been preserved. Many of these were later placed into the walls of St. Sion Church, built in 1655. Shatin church is built of polished basalt and was a big religious and cultural center of the late middle ages. In 17th century the number of monastery monks reached 90.Many manuscripts have been written here, some of which survive today. Being on the Selim-Sevan road (the Armenian Silk Road), it was connected with the merchantmen of Nor Jugha, Nakhichevan and Goghtn. Shatin monastery also served as an inn for Silk Road travelers. This is confirmed by the grave of Hakob Jughayeci, who in the 17th century was a benefactor of Shatin monastery reconstruction.